Welcome Guest [Log In] [Register]
Add Reply
Non-Skaven; Surely there is only Skaven!
Topic Started: 20th February 2013 - 12:27 AM (423 Views)
Host Tar
Member Avatar
Chieftain
My attemps at Jokaero :)

Posted Image
IMG_1442[1] by host tar, on Flickr

Posted Image
IMG_1445[1] by host tar, on Flickr
I need advice on skinks please - I'm making some to be slaves but have never painted them before

The below is a test & I tried all sorts on him, which is why he's beaten up! - I'll go through what I did & what I think may work for the real ones, but please advise as I'm a complete novice at the lizard folk :)

Posted Image
IMG_1462[1] by host tar, on Flickr

Posted Image
IMG_1460[1] by host tar, on Flickr

Whole Body
1. White primer
2. 50:50 Enchanted Blue/Nightshade over whole body
3. Pure Nightshade wash (heavy over the scales, medium in recesses, light on remainder)

Scales
4. Thunderhawk Blue on scales & top of crest
5. 75:25 Thunderhawk Blue/Rakrath Flesh on scales (feathered) & top of crest (layered)
6. 50:50 Thunderhawk Blue/Rakrath Flesh on large scales (feathered) & top of crest (layered)
7. Pure Rakrath Flesh on large scales (feathered) and top of creat (highlight)

Skin***
8. 25:50:25 Enchanted Blue/Nightshade/Skull White over skin (layered)
9. 25:25:50 Enchanted Blue/Nightshade/Skull White over skin (layered)
10. 25:75 Nightshade/Skull White over skin (layered)
11. Pure Skull White highlights on skin

Eyes
12. Wash eyes and tongue with Crimson
13. 80:20 Skull White/Blood Red on eyes & tongue (layered)
14. Pure Skull White on eyes & tongue (layered)

Fan
15. Pure Skull White on crest (skin flap thing)
16. Crimson Wash on crest (fan?)
17. Skull White highlights on crest fan ridges

*** I tested various methods on the skin, hence the absolute mess! But I got to the above process correct on his right leg which you can see in the 1st image, which I was most happy with and comfortable repeating.
Edited by Host Tar, 20th February 2013 - 12:56 AM.
Posted Image