Welcome Guest [Log In] [Register]
Add Reply
122nd Cadian tutorial; By me,Ratmikey!
Topic Started: 30th April 2008 - 12:50 PM (2,812 Views)
ratmikey
Member Avatar
I have become my terror,and you my precious lamb and martyr
Hi all this is my Imperial Guard tutorial.

Firstly I'm not an expert painter so don't be expecting any expert blending or NMM! :P

Also I am still learning myself,so there may be better ways to paint certain elements of a model then the way i paint them,so please feel free to let me know if there is something i could do that would be more effective.

So here we go:

Skin:
After applying a Chaos Black spray undercoat,the first thing i paint is the models skin.
I find that it's best to use the smallest brush that you have when painting the face.
Firstly i apply a watered-down coat of Scorched Brown to all the flesh areas of the model,making sure to get paint in all the gaps except for around the eyes:
Posted Image

Next I apply a watered-down coat of Dwarf Flesh to all the skin areas,again painting the gaps except for those around the eyes.
This may take a couple of coats,and should look like this:
Posted Image
Next i use a wash of watered-down Scorched brown.I water the paint down so that it still has enough pigment to cover,but also so it will flow into the gaps in the skin:
Posted Image
This is actually darker then i usually wash the model,but it is acceptable(to me at least! :P )

Now i re-apply the Dwarf flesh to the skin to make ensure that the skin leaving the rececess dark,and insuring is neither too dark or blotchy:
Posted Image
For the final layer i use Elf-flesh to highlight the skin such as the eyebrow and cheek areas trying not to cover to cover too much of the dwarf flesh layer:
Posted Image
Next is the part i find the trickiest,the eyes:
Posted Image
I paint them on with the smallest brush i have available,although I've heard good things about using cocktail sticks to paint the eyes.